Argentina - Buenos Aires...

I am an American with an OK pension. How much would it cost to live in a decent area of Buenos Aires? I may take a trip in the coming months and plan a move. Three cats would come with me - no family. I am single. My Spanish is OK - I watch Spanish television daily to learn the language better.   My name is Glenn - I just turned 55 last week. I write books full time but I am not successfully published yet.

Hi Glenn. With usd 1000 per month you can live here by your own. I'm a writer as well.

Thanks, Antonio - my income is much, much more than that. Thanks for letting me know. I will try to visit in the next year. I am not rich by USA standards. but I am doing OK.  I own a condo in western Massachusetts in an inexpensive area - I bought it new.

Cool man, glad it helped! That's great. What do you write about?

Hi, I am not yet published. I have written three historical fiction novels - two are long books, not good when one is seeking a publisher. The fourth is about my time in the military. I hope to have book deals by year's end. I am doing a contemporary novel (fiction) now. I have written science fiction and fantasy. I can afford to live overseas and not work, though some people have told me it is likely I could find part-time work teaching English if I wanted it. I do not have a college degree as I went into the military instead - I was a medic - so I am familiar with the medical field. I write every day in  my spare time, and I have to begin watching Spanish-speaking TV every day now - especially if I am going to relocate to Buenos Aires or some other Spanish country like Spain. I was stationed in the Philippines when young - so I know what it is like not to live in the USA and I am OK with it.