Working in Belize

We are looking at moving to Belize but wonder about working there.

Can Canadians work in Belize? I'm a Journeyman welder with management experience. My wife is an executive assistant in health care.

Ride09hd wrote:

Can Canadians work in Belize? I'm a Journeyman welder with management experience. My wife is an executive assistant in health care.

Ride09hd;
Welcome to the Belize Forum. Working in Belize is a topic that comes up often. I would recommend entering you questions with the search tool and/or looking through previous threads for a lot of good information on many topics that will come up in the  research process.

To your question...................... The short answer is no, but it is not impossible.

(Edited, copied, and pasted from my comments in previous threads)
Belize is a small, generally poor country with high unemployment. The government does protect is industries and jobs for it's own people. It is generally impossible to just move here and get a work permit for any job that can be done by a Belizean, and trades are not regulated like we are used to. These jobs are often done by locals with an aptitude for plumbing, electrical, welding, etc. If you have a rare skill or one not common in Belize then it becomes easier.

The main two options expats tend to exercise are firstly to open their own business or to work online and make a living from a business outside of Belize.

Belize welcomes expats that open businesses and then hire locals (you will still require permits to work in the business). Sometimes this is the way to go and the cheap labor here often makes it feasible. A good electrician can make at most BZ$70.00/day (US$35.00). less than I made in an hour in Canada. So even finding a job may not provide the income you would expect or require. That been said it is also important to find a niche that provides a needed service and does not compete with a local business, otherwise growing a business may be difficult.