Nursing employment

Hello,

I am a registered nurse in the U.S. I am hoping to move to Belize with my young child in 2016. I have done quite a lot of research but have found little information regarding licensing requirements or if there are nursing opportunities available.

Does anyone have any insight or advice?

Additionally, does anyone have any first hand knowledge of primary schools in Belize?

I appreciate any thoughts or advice anyone has to offer. Thank you.

Nursing in Belize is difficult if not impossible to get a job in The major requirement is a work permit and that would be difficult and legnthy process to obtain. The second point to consider a well quaiified nurse with a long time in the job is likely to be on a good Belize salary which would still be so much less than even a probationary nurse in the US. The Primary schools in Belize are divided between public and private all teach in English as the first Language. children all wear school uniform and ALL school supplies are the responsibility of the parents.  the structure of the schools is loosely based on the British system infant/primary 5 to 11 the secondary to 16 then what in Belize is called either 6th form or college 16 to 18. If I were taking young children to  Belize I would happily use the school system, but if over 11 or 12  and transferring from another countries system would be more concerned.I  hope this helps clarify a little.
Questions of working in Belize come up all the time and whatever your occupation getting a work permit in Belize is going to be difficult, even when it is obvious to outsiders some occupations are desperately  needed the medical professions being one area in need.

No jobs for immigrants. just the Belizeans

Thank you very much for your information.

I am prepared for the lengthy waiting process and am comfortable with living modestly. I would like to provide service to an area in need and have been exploring volunteer opportunities as well.