Safety and life in Kano

I work as a principal of an International school in Egypt. I was offered a job as a principal in Kano. However; Most of my friends and what I read tell me that it's not safe at all. Therefore; I would like to know the following in order to take a decision:
1- safety. As I see negative media coverage regarding this issue.
2- Internet/ mobile services.
3- health services/ health tips regarding local health hazards (if applicable).
4- availability and fees of good schools.
5- social life and entertainment facilities.
6- Availability of good supermarkets and the average of monthly grocery.
7- prices of transportation/ renting a car for a long term.
8- having a bank account and an ATM card to deposit/withdraw money.
9- any other tips that may be useful for a new expatriate to settle and get integrated in local life

Hello aakwaqf,

Welcome to Expat.com :)

As you have a long list of questions, about several aspects of how life is in Nigeria, I advise you to browse through the various threads found on the Nigeria forum. There are many members who provided helpful information.

To give you a head start, you can have a look at the following threads.
- The other side of the Nigerian postcard
- About Safety - Night Life - Cost of living - Is $670 enough?

Shaazia
Expat.com Team

I was just thinking about the last point: social life can be interesting knowing many foreigners there and many Nigerians are friendly, but not like Egyptians surely...
I've been working in Cairo for 6 years and now I'm working in Lagos, where I've met some Egyptians thanking some social network.
Good luck!
Tea

aakwaqf wrote:

I work as a principal of an International school in Egypt. I was offered a job as a principal in Kano. However; Most of my friends and what I read tell me that it's not safe at all. Therefore; I would like to know the following in order to take a decision:
1- safety. As I see negative media coverage regarding this issue.
2- Internet/ mobile services.