Latest experiences/feedbacks on TESOL Institutes

Hi

Again the TESOL institutes topic has been discussed many times But it would be great if friends could share their experiences on getting TESOL (not CELTA) certs in HCMC.  My research shows TEFL International, Compass are considered ok. But someone also suggested that getting it online from ITTT also suffices as it also gives a TESOL degree and theres a huge cost difference   ITTT ($349) vs $1400 from TEFL International.   

Thanks!!

You should never pay that much, go online....

Hi !

I am a teacher myself, teaching English in Vietnam. I know It's a huge saving between taking class online and in person for TESOL , but there is a downside to it. All Language Centers in Vietnam do not accept certification taking online. Maybe other countries make an exception. But the requirement for a qualified TESOL are:  120 hours + in class training, with at least 6 hours of observe teaching practices. If you have additional question, you can pm me.

Pony up for a CELTA or just get a sub-$50 online "certification", no middle ground really. Good schools will look for the former, and offer appropriately higher wages. Bad schools will barely glance at the latter, if they even bother asking.

My experience has been that if a school won't accept a distance, or online, TESOL it will say so in their ad. 

The CELTA is the most respected teaching cert. in Vietnam, though most don't have a clue what it is.  I always get a kick out of seeing an ad seeking a kid's teacher, with a CELTA.  The A stands for adult, so they want a teacher that's been trained to teach adults?

There is an extension called the  CELTA-YL (Young Learners). that costs an additional $800 +, as well as another 4 weeks in CELTA-ville.,  ILA has he monopoly on that, here in Vietnam.

I used to recommend the TEFL International course,until Compass took over. 'Nuff said.