Best Way to Learn Vietnamese?

I live in the states so not an expat, but I'm really interested in learning Vietnamese.  My wife is Vietnamese and many of her family members speak only Vietnamese, and so I would love to communicate with them.  They are from South Vietnam.

I have read a few other posts on this forum which discuss Rosetta Stone and how it is geared towards those living in North Vietnam.

The RS program looks attractive but I wonder if the dialect issue is that big of a deal? 

I know it will take me a long time to learn the language but I would prefer a structured sort of program, since i have tried to learn before, and got bored and just gave up out of frustration.

Anyone with tips or comments on the north/south RS dialect issue please let me know.

Thanks!

Hello!

I've been learning Vietnamese for the past 5-6 months and have had experience with Rosetta Stone when I was learning Spanish in College.

Your question is a tricky one. The biggest challenge for foreigners learning Vietnamese is pronunciation. Now I know RS has voice recognition but I wonder how accurate it really is because the difference between a lot of sounds in Vietnamese is so small it's barely recognizable to amateurs.

I have been taking 1-2-1 lessons which involves mostly speaking exercises. The grammar points in Vietnamese are very simple and can be picked up at a later stage. Pronunciation and vocabulary I would say are your two most important areas to start on.

RS would certainly be good for vocabulary but for pronunciation.. I'm not so sure.

There are plenty of Vietnamese expats in the states and I'm sure there are people willing to teach. Try and search online for someone willing to give you some one to one lessons.

Now with regards to the Northern and Southern dialect, in my opinion there is a distinct difference between a number of sounds. You also find in some cases they use completely different vocabulary for words.