Hey guys! Just arrived from San Francisco!

Hello everyone! I just moved here with my partner from San Francisco. He came for his job, and I am looking for work at the moment. I have a degree in English and am TEFL certified, so ideally I would like to find work teaching English. I am fairly proficient in Spanish and am learning French, but know no German or Luxembourgish. I also have a lot of experience as an insurance investigator and in retail management.

I am seeking other expats or locals for friends and networking. I love reading, writing, politics/current events, cooking, film, and music. If anyone wants to hang out, have a drink, do some exploring, or practice French, hit me up!

Bonus: if you're local and want help/tutoring in English, I'd love to help out in exchange for tutoring in French or German.

I keep a blog if you want to check it out: http://recoveredbaptist.wordpress.com/

Hi Beardj2012!

Welcome to Expat.com!

Armand

Hiya,

Regarding job offerings I would check english.monster.lu/ if you haven't already .

Cheers

Thanks for the suggestion Umbre. Done.

Welcome to Luxembourg, Beardj2012! I hope you are settling in okay. If you're still looking to network, I'm up for grabbing a drink or a coffee. I moved here from NYC 18 months ago, but lived in SF for a number of years. I wonder if Lux seems as bizarre (in a good way, of course) to you as it did to me!

Thanks, Drspaulding!

I am actually surprised by how normal/ comfortable it all seems. I'm either still in the honeymoon phase, or living in both Porland, OR and San Francisco reset the bar on what "bizarre" means. :)

I'd love to have a drink some time. After living in the land of good but overpriced wine, I am amazed at how amazing and CHEAP the wine here is!

James

Hi James,
You're right - bizarre is relative! That was an unfortunate, stream-of-conscious word choice on my part. Also, it implies that I think it's unusual to see lederhosen at street festivals rather than chaps and whips!