Teaching English, Noumea

Hi all,

Does anybody have any information about teaching English in Noumea?

I'm a British citizen and don't have previous teaching experience (I'm a qualified accountant but my french is not good enough yet to practice this in NC!)...however I plan on doing a 4 week TEFL course and getting additional work experience before I arrive.

How easy is it to get work in Noumea teaching English? Do I need a work visa or does the fact that I'm an EU resident and would be working for a private English language school (hopefully!) mean that a work visa is not necessary (I have read this on another thread).

Any information would be greatly appreciated :)

Thank you in advance...

Hi Lou

Not easy to answer.

EU citizens are "foreigners" in NC.

Ask your French friend to read the French forum, specially about "local protection".

There was long time ago on the forum the story of a Belgian citizen with a contract who had to leave, because he was not allowed to work.

I think the best thing to do is to ask your consul here :
http://www.embassypages.com/missions/embassy12261/
but he is only a honorary consul without email address !

If you have already a contact with an English school here, ask them to know if there is no problem for you to work in NC. I think some of their teachers are from Australia or NZ.

Good luck,

Pisolahy

Hi Pisolahy,

Thank you very much for your help. I will definitely contact the consul and see if he can give me any more info!

I have had a reply from one of the English Schools in Noumea who are interested in me working there on a freelance basis so I will ask them if it's possible for me to get a work visa given that I'm an EU citizen.

I have emailed and written to the French embassy in London already but so far they haven't been very helpful!!

I'll write back with my findings to help people who may be in my situation in the future...

In the meantime, if anyone has any more info then let me know!

Thank you :)

Louise