Moving from Chicago to Bucharest.

Hello there, my name is Vlad I am 22 years old and I currently live in Chicago, IL.
When I was 11 years old my mother decided to move to the US.
I enjoy living here, however people are not that great, crime rate is trough the roof. Jobs are getting hard to find ETC. Long story short, I am a high school graduate with minimal college experience. My Romanian is sub-par due to the lack of Romanian people around me to speak with. I want to come back home but I am afraid, there are many factors in play in which I have to address.
I currently work for Walgreens as a Pharmacy tech and I am recognized nationally by the PTCB as a Certified Tech.
With a high school education and my work experience will I be able to live okay on my own for the time being while I study? What kind of jobs will I be able to find? Will I be shunned by the people due to my poor Romanian speech? If I were to come back with 7000$ how long will I have to find a job? How expensive are cars? ETC.

Thank you in advance for the help.

Hello Vlad.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Hope you'll soon get some useful informations from other members.

Thank you,
Aurélie

No worries.Cars are abit more expesive than in US,but gas is 1,6$/liter not galloon.
try www.ejob.ro
Dan

Do you still have family in Romania? Father, grandparents etc. ? 7000 is a bit low, although perfectly doable for someone who speaks the language ( you can still re-learn it ) and still has the citizenship ( which, i believe, you had to give up ).

I have family in Galati and Campina. I still am a Romanian citizen yes.

hy
it would be grate to work here as a Farmacy tech  but not knowing romanian i don't know how many chances you have. Finding a job here is not that easy. In Galati for example there is a serious problem with jobs.

Hi Deadsnake!