Living in Brunei Daressalam

Hi All,

I am a Mechanical Engineer presently working in Doha, I have received an offer from Brunei with a salary of B$2500 and accomodation allowance of B$300 (B$ 500 after marriage) and a car.
I want to know if this salary is sufficient to live in Brunei especially since I am gonna get married in July and plan to get my wife here by August.
How is the cost of living and standard of living there?
How much would I be spending on food if I am cooking?
Thanks in advance.

PS: I dont spend extravagantly on stuff i dont need.

Hi j_nomaan and welcome to Expat.com!

Do not hesitate to browse through the different threads of the forum, it may help.;)

Harmonie.

Hey j_nomaan,

I would say B$2500 is enough to live on comfortably in Brunei. A good weeks shop for 2 can be around B$100-B$200 depending of course what you buy. At the moment I tend to buy imported stuff because 'I' know what it is but local produce is about 2/3rds of the price.

I would say the housing allowance is too small. you will be lucky to find a house or flat to rent for less than B$1000 and you will be looking at around B$400 a month for bills internet and tv.

This would of course eat into your monthly pay.

I hope this helps.

Agree with what Spuds has said.

The salary is pretty good, you should be able to get buy easily on that (even when you're supporting your wife as well), but that housing allowance sucks! :-)) You'd need atleast $1500 for a half decent furnished 3-bed house; there are some apartments available that would be cheaper, though - depends what you're after. Your best bet re: finding accommodation is to contact a load of local agents by phone (websites are USELESS and rarely updated, so don't even bother looking down that route) and ask them to source houses/apartments for you within your budget. They'll do this for no fee. You can find many agents advertising properties for rent on www.bobwhatson.com