Move to PR

I'm planning to move to PR. Is $2,500 enough to live there?

It depends....Do you have a job lined up? Have you already established somewhere to live? Do you currently have friends/family living here?

wcintro1 wrote:

I'm planning to move to PR. Is $2,500 enough to live there?

Per month? Yes if you don't need to pay more than an apartment, a car, electricity, water, telephone, internet, food, medical plan etc. You might even have a couple of bucks left to eat out or hit a bar every now and then.

Thanks Gary! Abattig: I have family there but I don't plan to live with them. I'm a veteran with pension of 2500. I plan to rent somewhere around 600 to 800, no more than that and not in the metro area and having a car payment would be my only debt. No kids, just me and the wife. Do you think 2500 should be enough?

Hi wcintro1,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I have introduced your topic as a new thread on the Puerto Rico forum for better visibility.

I think $2500 would be enough for living outside of the metro area.

No, it is not.

It depends on where and how you want to live and if there is anybody besides you. Since you'll have a car payment, that changes things a little. I wouldn't aim as high as $800 a month for rent. Your elect bill might run you $300-$400 a month with minimal AC usage. And I'll say it again, unless you live on rice and beans, food will decimate your budget. Come here and stay in a guest house for a week. Go to the supermarket and buy a week's worth of groceries and see how much it costs.

Why isn't it enough?  Perhaps his way of living differs from yours.  If the PR median household income is $21,645, I'm pretty sure he will be fine as he will be pulling in $30,000.

Hi PR;
We're planning a move from the Virgin Islands to Puerto Rico at the end of this yr.
Does anyone know of a Acupuncture Clinic on the island? I've been checking and haven't been able to find one.