Living in Vanuatu guide

Find out all you need to know to relocate and live in Vanuatu with the expat guide

About Vanuatu

Vanuatu covers a total area of 12,200 square kilometres of land and has the population of 270,470 people. Melanesians make up the majority of the population, and the official languages are English, French, and Bislama but over a hundred indigenous languages are spoken throughout the islands. Most of the population is still employed in agriculture, the key sector of the region's economy, with the main exports being cocoa, copra, beef, and kava. Tourism is the fastest growing sector, and Vanuatu is a developing tax haven providing offshore financial services.

The islands are split into six geographic provinces: Torba, Sanma, Penama, Malampa, Shefa, and Tafea. Porta-Vila is the capital located on Efate Island and is the hop off spot for most diving destinations and trips to other islands.

Once in Vanuatu, diving and snorkelling are the most popular activities. The small islands of Mele and Aore offer some of the best underwater spots. On land, Mount Yasur on Tanna Island is an active volcano and a definite must-see. With the islands receiving quite a lot of visitors, season choice becomes an important factor that will influence your experience. July to December is the high season and if you prefer to see Vanuatu in its more tranquil state, plan your trip from January to June.

Citizens of most countries can travel to Vanuatu visa-free for a period of 30 to 90 days depending on their country of origin.

Quick Information

Capital : Port Vila
Official Languages : Bislama
Currency : Vatu
Area : 12200 Km2
Population : 221552
Calling Code : +678
Timezone : Pacific/Efate

Share your Expat Experience in the Guide

As an member you can share your own experience about your expatriation by writing some articles in the Expat Guide.
Formalities, Visas, Work, Bank. Share your tips or your knowledges about the new country where you chose to live, or about your own country.