Living in the Faroe Islands guide for expats

All the information you need to relocate and live in the Faroe Islands.

About the Faroe Islands

Though the Faroe Islands technically form a part of Denmark, it is autonomous, with the government in Denmark retaining responsibility for defence and foreign relations matters. As such, the Faroe Islands are not part of the EU, and visa-free travel is reserved for citizens from other Nordic countries only.

Tórshavn is the Faroese capital and is home to nearly 20,000 residents. It is located in the south of Streymoy island, which is the most populated of the islands that form the archipelago.

The islands have a rich and storied past, from the arrival of Vikings to Irish monks. Faroese towns are home to a unique architecture that highlights this, with colourful houses reflecting the historic use of natural building materials, including the classic grass-covered roofs.

Due to its location, the Faroe Islands doesn't share as harsh of a climate as some of its northern Nordic neighbours, however, the weather is considered to be unpredictable and often on the receiving end of wind and rain.

Quick Information

Official Languages : Faroese
Currency : Krone
Area : 1399 Km2
Population : 48228
Calling Code : +298
Timezone : Atlantic/Faroe

Share your Expat Experience in the Guide

As an member you can share your own experience about your expatriation by writing some articles in the Expat Guide.
Formalities, Visas, Work, Bank. Share your tips or your knowledges about the new country where you chose to live, or about your own country.