L@@king to Volunteer as Paramedic in Chiang Mai

Hello All,
I am a U.S. citizen that has travelled to CNX frequently over the years.   I am under 50 (46 years old) and retired from the U.S. military.  Wish I could simply get a retirement visa but Thailand seems to be sticklers about the age 50 part.  I am also a trained paramedic, in the USA, and I have worked in this field around the world....not Thailand.

I usually travel on tourist exempt status visas and do the visa run deal for the 4-5 months that I am there.  I am looking to stay for a longer period this time and I would like to volunteer both as a way to utilize some of my time as well as stay under an appropriate visa.

I have reached out (by email) to two ambulance services in Chiang Mai but I have not received a reply.  I would like to volunteer in this field, if at all possible.  I am posting here in hopes that someone might have a lead or contact that I can start out with.

I am planning on returning to CNX the first week of October and returning to the States in April 2019.  I am strictly looking to volunteer and I do not require assistance beyond this.  I have transportation, housing and other essentials covered.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Marcel

Unless you speak Thai I doubt you will have chance of being part of ambulance crew even as a volunteer.

Back in 2010, give or take a couple years, I do remember a foreigner that was volunteer on ambulance crew in Bangkok and he could speak Thai I was told.   The ambulance service was connected to Ruam Katanyu Foundation in Bangkok.

Not fluent but I can communicate at a general conversation level.  I would agree that getting your foot in the door would require a strong handle on Thai.  However, medicine is medicine and injuries are injuries these things universal in all parts of the world no matter the language.

Any thoughts on people I should reach out to?

Thanks!