Looking to move to BK asap/advice on visas needed:

Hi - I have been coming to Thailand on and off for many years.  I am now in a position whereby to BK or one of the islands (must have good internet connection)  for at the very least a 12 month period.

I work in the software industry for a US company but reside in the UK.  My work is conducted in the main through skype calls and web conferencing - so my plan is to find a house, with good internet comms and work for say 6/8 weeks then travel to meetings in Europe / see family back in UK.  So I would be away for 2 weeks may 3/4 every second month.  I also look after APAC, mainly India and Aus - i don't do any business in Thailand.

WHat visa would I need.  Every web check I've done assumes I would be working for a Thai company.  So quite simple, I want to physically work remotely from BK / Thailand but not do business/trade per se.  My work is looking after partners who use our software.....What should I do what are my options?  I would still be paid in GBP sterling ....

thanks in advance

Based on what you say I would obtain 60 day tourist visa before each trip to Thailand.  You will be able to extend for 30 days if you go over 6-8 week plan to telecommute in country before leaving.  As you say a work permit is required and after a few tourist visa's you might be asked if you are working in Thailand without work permit.

Hi Straydog,

Thank you for your reply.

Two quick questions.
1, If I get a 60 tourist visa, im assuming i need this from an embassy in advance?  The visa you get when you land is for only 30 days - am correct?
2, How would I go about extending the 60 days into a 90 day?  Would I not also be asked why I want to extend?

I'm thinking overall your suggestion is a good idea and do it for two stays only while I assess the over all experience.  It could end up simply not being practical as a way of life / for work etc....and then i do have to wait until retirement ....thanks again