Thai Work Visa - dependent able to work

Hi all,

I am an English teacher (British National) currently applying for jobs in Bangkok. I am married to an Italian citizen and I wanted to ask what the VISA rules are for her. If I applied for a job and received an offer of work, I presume she would be allowed to the neter the country and live with me as a dependent?

Does this mean she can also look and apply for work on a dependent VISA or not?? If not, how easy is it for her to change her VISA in-country?

Thanks for your help,

Daniel Jarrett

[Moderated: please post in classifieds]

Hi Daniel:
Once you have your VISA and work permit, then your wife will also entitle to enter Thailand as spouse.

Yes, your wife and look for job in Thailand. Once she gets a job the company will arrange to apply for work permit for her. Her work permit will rely on VISA that she has.

I hope this helps.
Best Regards,
VUTAYA

Hi Vutaya

This is the same question I couldn't seem to find the answer for so thanks! I'll be a qualified teacher (BA and all) in a year so I'm good to go but my boyfriend doesn't have a BA. He wants to study for it though while we're in Thailand, and hopefully work too. Would it be better if we were married? Does common-law count with Thai visa's? (sorry for hijacking your post dghjarrett)  :)

Hi melis82:
Sorry may I ask where are you from? So I have a colleague who is from England, they are not married, but they have been together very long time and the British government recognized them as spouse (with official papers of course.) So, his gf has entitled as 'dependent' status to him. So no need to marry as long as you have official papers confirming that you are legally together.

I hope this helps.

Regards,
VUTAYA:)