Am I quite certain to be approved?

I am originally from Hong Kong, but have been working in the asset management industry in Chicago for my entire work life.

I have a bachelors in engineering from UC Berkeley.

I have 5.5 years of work experience - I don't currently have a big title - just a quant analyst. My organization is very flat.

My most recent base salary in the US is 14000 SGD.

The new role is with one of the big pensions funds (one of GIC/Temasek), and will be paying base salary of 15500 SGD.

The new title is VP in their quant research/asset allocation group.

I have a 4 month notice period and HR wanted me to get the notice period kicked off due to the length, and said not to worry about epass approval because they are sure of it and they have never failed, and worst come to worst they would win in an appeal.

So I did the foolish thing against the advice of this forum by quitting before IPA. Am I likely to be fine?

Looking at your job offer (Quant analysts are in high demand due to special skill sets) and pay package, I'm very much sure you should get your EP in few weeks. Recently, our firm too hired few quant guys in our QSG function, all have got fat pays like yours and all of them got their EP approvals in less than 2 weeks time. Good luck

Thanks surya. I was getting really worried ( a bit less now) because I didn't know about this forum beforehand and since HR was so confident I just assumed it was automatic. Then I see the advice over and over here not to quit before IPA and scared myself. Next time i will be smarter!

Approved. One day. Thanks for assurance.

Congrats, welcome to Singapore..

surya2k wrote:

Congrats, welcome to Singapore..

Thanks. i was very surprised how quick because HR said they expect a week or worst case 2 for EP. DP now submitted and hope that approves fast too.

just for future informational purposes - was it irresponsible for HR to tell me to resign before getting an IPA? Should I have stood my ground?