Unmarried Spouse - Dependent Pass or Long Term Visit Pass

Hello

My question is whether my unmarried spouse could enter Malaysia on a dependent pass or would need to get a long term visit pass.

I'm an experienced Financial Services professional who is about to get a job offer from one of the Big4 accounting firms in Kuala Lumpur.  They would be fully supportive of my visa and employment pass applications.  My salary is good (over 500,000 MYR annual) to reflect the experience I can bring.

As well as myself, I would be bringing my unmarried partner and 2 small children to live with me. We would be leaving the UK, where myself and my family are UK citizens.   My children would be on Dependents Pass' and we are trying to work out whether my partner (mother to the children) would be under a dependents pass (with a letter from the British High Commission in KL saying we are spouses) or a Long Term Visit Pass.

Wording on the UK Government's website about the British High Commission's services is pretty clear - that they can issue a spousal letter in support of her getting a dependents pass.  I've checked with the British High Commission and they have said they can do this.

Wording for 'Issue a letter for Dependant Pass':
We can issue “Common Law letters” in support of unmarried partners or family members' (of a British citizen, employed in Malaysia) application to live in Malaysia as a dependant. The partners or the family members can then make an application to Malaysian Immigration Department for Dependant Passes to be affixed in their respective passports.
https://www.gov.uk/guidance/notarial-an … #Dependant

However, my future employer has said that she could only come in on a Long Term Visit Pass.  They think it's the only option but I think they may be wrong.

My questions are:
1)  Assuming we get the spousal letter, do you think she would be eligible for a dependents pass?