The best place on earth to make money as an ESL teacher

Hi to all,

I want to ask the following question for those who have experience with travelling and teaching English: Which country gives the best chances to make a good salary as an ESL teacher? And I don't mean relative to the local prices (small salary, even smaller prices) but in saved dollars per month.

I have a Master of Science in Business Economics and Auditing which is a university degree, and I have also taught at university level subjects (math, economics and finance) but I also have the following problems in terms of teaching English: 1) I am not a native speaker of English, but Danish instead, and 2) I do not have a teaching certification.

I can speak English fluently.

Can anyone here tell me what options I have to go straight to a teaching position without having to take further courses such as a TEFL certification etc.? I have seen some sites with listings of apparently interesting countries and they mostly say that TEFL certification is either recommended or a direct demand. But these sites also sell TEFL courses so they lack credibility in my eyes. Thus, I am here to ask you about this.

Does anyone here have any actual experience with this?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Playdane

ESL teaching is a typical stop-gap job for lost souls and people who don't know what to do with their lives.
It is relatively well-paid in local terms in some countries, but not in international terms. (The better paid and more long-term secure positions are of course for experienced, native speaking and TEFL-certifies teachers.)
Surely as a business M.Sc. holder you can earn far more in your field of expertise.

beppi wrote:

ESL teaching is a typical stop-gap job for lost souls and people who don't know what to do with their lives.