Do immigrants take or create jobs?

Hi All

I just wanted to share my immigrant story here and was hoping it can be useful to someone.

I moved to Canada 5 years ago alone from Russia with literally few hundred dollars in my pocket. Right now it sounds crazy (even to me!) and I probably would not do it again.  Life was quite hard but those were fun times: i was sharing a basement with 2 girls from Brazil and there were times when the three of us could not pay our electricity bill. We bought a car from someone for $700 which didn't have a power steering and for some reason it was so hard to turn the wheel that it would take the 2 of us to move the damn thing haha.. At the time i was a grad student on a full scholarship ( i was also Teaching assistant and cleaned bars & apartments part time).

As time passed things got better and i finally got my first good job (as a management consultant). At the time the paycheck felt like a million dollars. i worked for that company for 4 years and learned a lot, met amazing people (some them became my friends for life).

But something was still missing.  I left that stable and well-paying job few months ago to launch my own startup called Kinza . Its an airbnb of food. I remembered my old times when i just moved to Canada and didn't really know anyone or had any friends. All I wished at the time was to invite someone over for a dinner and talk to them:)  I am a tech geek and i love Internet 2.0 but i noticed that tech makes people more and more lonely. Kinza was my attempt to bring back good old conversation. Connect people from different backgrounds and countries over a dining table.

So the reason i named that topic "Do immigrants take or create jobs?" is because i feel that immigrants are much braver and that boldness actually creates jobs and drives local economies. Be proud of yourself if you call yourself an immigrant!