Recognition of foreign qualifications in Mauritius

Hello everyone,

Were your professional qualifications recognised in Mauritius? What country did you complete your qualifications in? What profession are you in?

Did you have to go through any formalities to get your qualifications recognised, such as to have them translated?

If your qualifications weren't recognised, were there any additional tests or exams you had to complete before you were able to practice your profession in Mauritius or continue with your studies?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Priscilla

My degree is recognized here. I studied and practiced in South Africa but I have to sit the medical board exam later this year.

Dear Priscilla

Good question. Fortunately for me I had no real issues with the government recognizing my credentials.

Regards

Brenda

I was a qualified social worker in the UK with a BA hons . Sadly age goes against me here , most jobs dont want applicants over 40yrs. Many people have also told me that I am overqualified. Guess all my years with disabled children and fostering counted for nothing. Shame, I would have loved to share my experience and gain some new learning.

We have a number of people who work for us with degrees from outside Mauritius (engineering,IT, telecommunications etc. but it may depend on the industry sector.
Also we have no age barrier.

Tinauk... That's a real shame and smacks of the somewhat backward thinking of this islands Established culture. With a population that has many people looking for decent work it's perhaps not surprising such things as 'unstated' restricted age barriers to employment play a determining role (there's also a fair degree of who you know in the right political circles that helps put candidates into working positions, island mentality I'm afraid, it's not going to change overnight , if at all... ever).