Hi, looking for kindly advice :)

Hi everybody, i'm Elisa and I've just joined Expat.com :)

I'm planning to move to tokyo and i'd be more than glad to hear from your experiences and maybe advices.

I am a graphic designer and junior social media manager, since not everybody knows exactly what that mean I'm gnat explain (if you know what i do then just skip this part! ;) ). I develop logos, images, adv for brands, I also create the aesthetic part of website and app, that means i prepare the interface and how you see that, I'm not writing down the code. And I also manage social accounts (fb, instagram, tw) for different brands. (here's my website elisaturrini.com

Now, my bf has been moved to tokyo by his company and my plan is: I will look for a job before moving, first of all cause i'm not willing to leave my current job in Milan and also because, from what I know, I couldn't look for a job with a tourist visa (correct?)

But before applying I'd like to know
what are the main skills or qualities i should offer in a market place like that
how much is it important to speak basic japanese (i'm studying it, but far from speaking it fluently)
should i look for a job on company website or is there any other option
should i mention the real reason i'm moving or would that be bad
would it be ok to focus on my italian origin (since italy is quite appreciated abroad and also because of our design heritage) or would it be seen as vain?
and last but not least, do you think I have real possibilities to get a job?

Anyway thank you : )
have a good day/night

Elisa

Hi Elisa,

I am bf of visual/character designer and I am in signing phase for a job in Tokyo, Japan - so we're (I mean couples) solving pretty much same situation.