How comfortable will I be living with this salary in Surrey?

Hi all,

I'm Lez and I'm from PH. A newbie on the site :)
I'll be moving to Surrey early next year. I'm a nurse here and will be working as one when I get there.

Before I dive right in, I would like to prepare myself mentally of the things I need to expect there cost-wise. I got a job offer and they will be paying me about £26,000 per annum. My accommodation will also be subsidized by the company and I only need to pay a small percent of the total. I'm thinking of about £250-400 as their share of the rent, I pay the rest).
So I expect to take home about $1,600 per month after tax.

Will I be living comfortably on that amount in Surrey?
Can you please give me a rough idea on how much I'd be spending on the following on a monthly basis:

- Food/Groceries
- Transportation
- Utilities, Council tax, TV license, etc.
- Telephone/Broadband
- Gym membership (a must)
- Dental insurance
- Occasional shopping for anything
*please feel free to add a few other things I should consider paying for

Here are a few things I'd like to mention:
- I don't mind house sharing.
- I don't smoke so no spending on expensive cigarettes for me. :)
- I seldom drink but would be willing to spend on alcohol from time to time with friends.
- I don't feel any need to own a car (yet).

Many thanks guys! :)

You could live quite a comfortable life. Shop around for the best price regarding broadband there are many providers in the UK. TV licence can be paid monthly or yearly. I forget the fee. The Gym - it depends on what town or city you will live in.

As mentioned by SCAT the cost of living in the UK varies by town or city, even within the same county and unfortunately Surrey is one of the most affluent counties in the UK, so prices are reflective of this. Take a look at this site to get some idea, though I don't know how reliable the data is, but it shouldn't be a million miles off: https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/i … ed-Kingdom