~$500 for work permit and residency card: fair or no?

Hi,

I'm considering teaching with a firm that's offering to take me on and assume some responsibility for my work permit and residency card. They want $10.6 m VND ($478) to take care of both.

I'm reading online that the fees for the work permit and residency card are a little less than half of what my prospective firm is offering.

Is this a fair price? I have no experience with this process, and have no idea how difficult it would be to obtain these permits on my own.

-JL

Of course you will have to do the physical yourself but how much is your time worth?  In my case I went downtown not once but twice to find a critical office closed due to street repairs.  The permit represents at least two days of running around time and that is if everything goes OK and if you have a Vietnamese speaking person assisting you.  Getting all the documents properly translated and certified is the problem.  A net 5 million is probably fair.  In the US that would buy not even one hour of lawyer time.

By rights the school should pay as the permit is not only yours to work but also a permit for them to hire you.  Perhaps they are hedging against your leaving before too long.  Maybe you could negotiate with them to return the fee to you if you work a given period such as one year.

If they do the translation of your pertinent papers, then maybe its quite good. As far as my experience, its a bit lesser than. Again, its on my part.

for me

cho ray hospital  1.577 mill , wait 5 days - takes 2 hours

uk consulate - need 2 book 3 weeks ahead,takes 30 minutes

MOFA ( govt rip-oFF SCAM/ NEW)  650K

WEEKS OUTSIDE VN, pointless time wasted - endless

sorry, keyboard is screwed .

2.4 million 2 get CRC, BA and CElta done in brit  consulate

Im now just waiting for the part where the guv says