Possibly Moving to Aguadilla

Hi All,

I never knew I had the guts to do it but I jumped off a cliff and applied for a job in Aguadilla. I have never traveled outside of the continental US and do not speak Spanish.  I am a beginner but I enjoy the structure of the language and I am excited about starting up my learning again.  I am starting my research of the city and relocating to a beautiful island from scratch and I am quite nervous...but excited all at the same time.  I am single, no children with a furbaby (Chihuahua).  I assume that my move would have an extremely aggressive timeline due the how quickly the interview process progressed. So, I am looking for an apartment and information on public transportation in Aguadilla. I don't think I want to ship my own car just yet. Would I look like a moving target walking around the city alone with my pup? I sure hope not. I would sell most of my belongings and only ship clothing, shoes and a few items that I know I wouldn't be able to find in PR like my favorite salad dressing :) Thank you for having me and all of your advice in advance.  I am taking notes from the posts I've read already!

You are going to need a vehicle of some type in PR. Nobody is likely to bother you when walking the dog, but a woman walking at night in an area where there is no people is not recommended. Crime are usually based on opportunity, so do not temp them.

Hope you get the job.

Thank you so much. I have a lot to consider. I don't want to rent a vehicle because it is super expensive and I am nervous about buying a car there because I don't speak Spanish. I will try not to worry for today. Next round of interviews is tomorrow. Thank you kindly for replying.

You can buy a car for 2 to 4k, and use it for a year or 2 while you decide if you are staying longer or not. It may not look great but it can take you places and still be reliable enough.