Aussie moving to Valencia

Hi All, my name is Lynn and I was born in London, UK and immigrated to Australia with my parents when I was 9 years old. Before I retired I was a Special Education teacher. I have been married for 34 years. I have been living in Vietnam for the past 5 years and have travelled South East Asia extensively having also lived for a time in India and Thailand. My husband and myself are relocating to Valencia, Spain in November of this year for a change of pace to Asia. My husband and myself are also vegetarian and have been for quite a number of years. We are both passionate about experiencing different cultures and meeting and making new friends.

What a lovely introduction; welcome to the forum.

Hi,

I don't know what it's like finding vegetarian food in Valencia but here in Menorca its rarer than tits on a boar.  Most locals think that fish are vegetables, likewise they think a vegetarian dish is one than has vegetables in it as well as meat.  Valencia is bigger and probably more international but be prepared to go hungry from time to time, especially in airports.

Tortilla Espanol is OK and tostada is good for breakfast, but eventually you would like to eat something else.  Just thank god you aren't vegans.

We have been reduced to buying Tartex online at extortionate prices.

Hungry from Menorca

Hi, Thanks for the info, much appreciated. Currently we live in Vietnam and have been here for 5 years. Vietnamese eat vegetarian food for 2 days every month (Buddhist) but the vegie restaurants here are basically hot box situations (without the hot box). I am a vegetarian/vegan chef and eating out is always a good thing for me  because then someone else does the cooking. I will stay in touch and let you know how we go in Valencia. So, are you vegetarian? I suppose so if you are buying Tartex and willing to sell a limb to get it.