Teaching English

Good morning all,

I currently work in the oil and gas industry and because of the downturn in the oil price theres not much work around.

I was wondering if anyone has done the TESOL course through the Australasian Training Academy? I was put on to this site by a friend. Just wondering if anyone had done the course through them and what your experience was like in finding work after?

Cheers all,

Liam

I have not done that particular TESOL course but I did receive a TESOL certificate prior to arriving in Vietnam.  By putting my CV out there it was almost immediately picked up by a few English centers.  The centers also look at what degree you earned from University.  Being I was math I found a solid position at an international school after a few months of searching.  If you have a degree in some sort of STEM field, I would recommend obtaining a teaching certification wherever and apply for positions at international schools.  Being that you work in the oil and gas industry, I assume you have some sort of engineering background perhaps.

(Please?)    ..try to remember TESOL courses are great money spinners - for the sales staff.   

Don't even bother.   All you (really!) need do is turn up...   ..and introduce yourself.

Any age-range of pupil will teach you too.   Use vivid, simple examples and a cryptic humour that does dot denigrate (anyone)    The rest is written in history.

Too obvious?    Then look at the internet.   It has neat diagrams like a face, car, house (etc)  and you stand there in authoritative pose  (ego required)  pointing at features and use a clear voice without accent.   Choosing dignity will stop anyone from looking foolish.    Even Us.