Moving to Holland

I'M in my 20's, an African and moving to Holland to start a new life.I'm a high school graduate and also having a certificate in systems engineering(I.T). Where will be the best city to live in and find work easily?

What are the prices for a shared accommodation?

Hi Carter,

Carter0011 wrote:

I'M in my 20's, an African and moving to Holland to start a new life.I'm a high school graduate and also having a certificate in systems engineering(I.T). Where will be the best city to live in and find work easily?

If you don't have an EU passport, you will need a Visa; there is plenty of advice on this forum regarding visa's.  Perhaps you should first visit Holland as a tourist and make sure you like it.  One word of warning, you will not be allowed to apply for a resident permit while in Holland, you will need to leave and apply from your home country.  There are some hurdles you'll need to get across as you will need to be able to support yourself on arrival and not hope to get social money.

With regards to working in Holland; the important thing is qualification and experience; at your age, you won't have much experience and will be competing with locals in the same situation who have the Dutch qualifications.  My advice would be to use the Internet to research what jobs may be available and then contact the companies who are advertising to see if they will recognise your qualification.  To enhance your chances of getting work, probably the most important thing is language, you really need to be able to speak Dutch and the ability to say hello, goodbye and order a meal is probably not good enough.