Moving to Tripoli - Help Please!!!

Hi there!

I'm currenly being offered a position in Tripoli in the Oil & Gas industry (I'm an Engineer - God forbid!). They say the accom is in a "camp". I'm not sure what to think, so I wanted to get some feedback from some expats about their overall experiences there, and wondering if any of you could comment about your overall feeling on life in Tripoli...

I honestly don't know anything about the place, but I'm originally from Caglary, Canada. I'm 46 yrs old, newly married. I've been living and working as an expat for a few years now, but in relatively "modernized" places like Seoul, and Dubai.

I heard/saw some forum posts that say that it's a pretty boring place. Not that I necessarily need a totally "happenning" place or city to live in, but can some of you comment? Are there things to keep a guy busy? What kind of TV can you get with the Sat Dishes? I like American Sports & good hollywood movie selections too. Are there enough expats there that you can start to make a decent circle of Expat friends? I heard that there are no decent banks or reliable Bank ATM's.. so how does one handle the storage, access, and transportation re: available spending cash? Does one just bring in a WAD of it, i.e.: after every rotation, and then just store it in the provided Room Safe?

I also just heard, just now, that Canadians (now) cannot get a Visa to come to Libya. Do any of you know if this is indeed true?

Any advice you can provide me on the lifestyle in this place, and available leisure activities to keep from going crazy, would be much appreciated so I can make an informed decision on whether or not I think moving there is for me.