Moving to England in 2011

Hello there,

My name is Martijn and I will be moving to Leicester in August 2011.

My girlfriend is a british citizen finishing her university degree in Leicester, I'm an IT professional with over 10 years of experience under my belt.

I've found most of the information I need through the internet and various government websites, however this is just the theory and it leaves me with a couple of practical questions which I hope some of you might be able to answer.

The job situation
I'm currently employed with the dutch mental healthcare institute where I manage all aspects of their internal technical support (Windows/Citrix based network)
I have extensive experience in the field of customer support, technical support and helpdesk/call centre management.

I have several references and written recommendations but all from dutch employers, will these have any added value in England? (obviously I will have them translated and signed)

I would prefer to start applying for jobs while still in the Netherlands, does anyone have any experience with applying for jobs while not in England (yet)?

Would taking the TOEFL test have any added value when it comes to applying for jobs?
(I studied English for three years on bachelor level before starting my degree in IT/Human computer interaction)

The housing situation
We intend to rent a house or appartment in Leicester, however I have a lovely prize-winning Maine Coon cat I would like to bring. This cat doesn't go outside and has had his claws trimmed regularly since he was just a kitten. Does anyone have experience with finding housing that allows for pets (I don't mind paying a little extra)

The car/bike situation