Why is my Resume not Getting a Response?

Hello Everyone!

I've browsed through a LOT of job related threads on here and set up a profile on multiple Vietnamese career websites. I've been actively applying to jobs, but have not gotten any response!

I have a master's degree, but my only work experience has been as a research and classroom assistant. I was initially contemplating a career in academia, but have decided to put that on hold for now.

Should I, perhaps, get some experience in my home country and then apply for jobs? Or should I apply for jobs in person when I arrive in Vietnam?

I really want this to work out, so any help is appreciated! Thank you!

ETA: Is going through a recruiter a good idea? Since my web job-search isn't yielding any results!

think most are old post and should been removed already

I don't know what your area of expertise is but I feel you should try a more back door approach. Don't focus all your energy on companies inside of Vietnam but research companies that have offices or do business in Vietnam. Apply for work in the US (or France and even Russia) with an eye towards transferring to Vietnam. When I came here initially I was an American working for a Norwegian company and I got transferred here. Now I'm married and live here but work in Qatar.

Thanks for your reply, yolandyoland2! I should clarify that I haven't applied to any jobs through the boards on here because a lot of them are indeed outdated!

Hi, VungTauDon, I should have stated this above: my master's is in Public Relations; roughly speaking, my research focused on the internationalization strategies of large corporations. I am also very interested in teaching and the education industry in general, which is making this process harder because a part of me wants to get my CELTA certificate and teach. Although, I've been advised that it'll be hard for me to get my career "back on track" once I go down that road!