Are Icelandic people nice?

Hi guys!

I am a Medicine student in Heidelberg (Germany) and I am considering the possibility of doing an internship in the hospital, in the capital city.

I would like to know some expats' opinions about Icelandic people: are they nice? Do they like talking to foreigners? In general, is it likely that I'll make friend if I stay for just a short period of time (2-3 months tops)?

Thank you,
Luna

I'd say Icelanders are nice but it takes a while to get to know them. I'm not sure what it's like to work in a hospital, how outgoing you are, or what living situation you're looking into, but it took me a lot longer than 2-3 months to make real friends with any Icelanders.  The ones I'm friends with now are all people who I've worked with for years, or lived abroad and know what it's like to be new in a different society.

Germans, however, seem to be very good at meeting other Germans while they're here. You can also of course try to meet more locals by participating in as many non-work activities as possible, such as sports groups, musical activities and the like. If you can connect with some student life, I'm sure you'll meet people that way too.

As to whether they like talking to foreigners, I remember having a lot of conversations at the beginning with people who were curious what it was REALLY like where I'm from, since they'd all seen lots of movies from America. Based on my experience in Germany, I don't think the locals are any more or less excited to speak to foreigners. The language issue was for me at least less in Iceland since people here speak better English than Germans (or are more excited to practice), for the most part.

of course, all bets are off when it comes to a weekend downtown. Then, everyone wants to talk to you and they're all super nice, if inebriated.

Hi!

Thank you for your reply!