UK citizen getting paid in Hungary/tax

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this query. I'm new to Budapest. Did an English teaching course here and am now looking for teaching work. I was wondering how I go about getting paid. I'm from the UK. I know i will have to do invoices for schools i work for. But I heard something about registering as self-employed and as a business in the UK. And then I pay tax through the UK instead of Hungary because of some EU Reciprocal Txx agreement. Can somebody give me advice on this? Is it legal? How do i do it if it is? Thanks

Humphrey_Plugg wrote:

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this query. I'm new to Budapest. Did an English teaching course here and am now looking for teaching work. I was wondering how I go about getting paid. I'm from the UK. I know i will have to do invoices for schools i work for. But I heard something about registering as self-employed and as a business in the UK. And then I pay tax through the UK instead of Hungary because of some EU Reciprocal Txx agreement. Can somebody give me advice on this? Is it legal? How do i do it if it is? Thanks

I'm no expert but I have some knowledge.

There's no "EU agreement" on tax. The model is based upon the OECD guidelines which is much wider than just the EU (OECD includes for example, Canada and the USA).

Basically, if you are here in Hungary for 6 months, then you will be considered resident. Other indicators of tax residence would be having a residence and basing the centre of your life here. The tax rate in Hungary is considerably higher than in the UK, but at the end of the day, you will be issued with a tax certificate by the authorities in either country which can be used to offset taxes in the other country. You would not have to pay twice. If you are registered here, the tax authorities would view you as resident.