Just moved to Madrid...

Hi there,

IŽve recently moved to Pozuelo de Alarcon, which is 10mins on the bus from Madrid, from England.

Anywho iŽm loving it so far but iŽm in desperate need of a job- i have extensive experience in sales and barwork although iŽm quite happy to do anything. If anyone knows/ hears of anything i would hugely grateful.

It would be nice to meet people too, i have a fair grasp of Spanish but it could definately be improved upon and of course iŽd love to be able to converse with people in English.

Anyways look forward to meeting/ speaking to some of you soon.

Luke

Hi Luke,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Thank you for your introduction.

What are your first impressions of Pozuelo de Alarcon or Madrid?

Do not hesitate to share your experience with us.

Concerning your job search, i would suggest you to have a look at the "Work in Spain" guide. This might help you.

I wish you good luck,
Christine

Hiya Luke,

Make sure you visit infojobs.net, it is probably the most visited website for work searching by spaniards. You can select "madrid" in the provinces drop down menu, and do not forget to enter "ingles" in the keyword box.

See, this is your main advantage so make good use of it. Though there is a huge unemployment rate in Spain, there is not in the sales area, and also there are many spaniards that claim they speak good english but they are totally unable to keep up in a simple conversation. So, if you apply to jobs requesting "native speakers", youŽll be increasing your chances. Of course you will need to improve your spanish mid term, but on that we can help you out with =)

Feel free to poke me if you need further help.

Best of lucks!
Javier

Hi guys,

Thanks for the advice it is hugely appreciated. ItŽd be great to get some money coming in so i can explore Madrid a bit more.