Teaching in Laos?

Good afternoon, all.

I'm seriously considering moving to Laos.

I'm a Native Speaker of English

I have a degree, a TEFL certificate, and more than 20 years of teaching experience in Cambodia.

I have also held management positions such as School Director, Program Manager, HoD, etc. some with very well-known corporate organisations. I can tailor curricula (ESP) for Hotel and Tourism industry and government organisations ( I taught Senate and National Assembly staff in Cambodia), among others.

So, the possible problem is I'm 67...

Do you think I could find sustainable work in Laos? NGO, school, university or otherwise? I live a simple life.

Please send me a message if you think we can work together, or if you have any leads.

Thanks, sadzangravy

Welcome aboard.

Best thing to do would be to contact schools and teaching institutions for possible employment.

There are a lot of international schools in Vientiane.

Try those in Vientiane first and then in Pakse or Luang Prabang, where the numbers of schools are limited.

A Google search 'schools in Vientiane' will give you a lot to contact.

Good luck and let us know how you get on.

Do you think I could find sustainable work in Laos? NGO, school, university or otherwise? I live a simple life.Please send me a message if you think we can work together, or if you have any leads.Thanks, sadzangravy        -@sadzangravy

I taught in Vientiane at one of the "international" schools in 2008 - 09  and then as a freelance teacher/tutor/proofreader from 2011 - 15, so my knowledge is hardly up-to-date. I don't think things have changed that much though.

Teaching in Laos is quite similar to Cambodia.  If you can land a position with one of the "international" schools as a teacher or manager/administrator, you will have a monthly salary, WP and visa and some benefits based on a one-year contract. As Stumpy mentions above, you should be contacting them.