confused and need help

I want to teach English in Korea (at a Hagwon) for a year. Is it possible to go into marketing after teaching English in South Korea? I want to live and stay there afterward. I am currently in my last year of university as a cultural anthropology major and am minoring in TEFL. I am currently learning Korean as well and hope to be TOPIK level 1 before I graduate in July 2023. My biggest concern is how do I go about gaining marketing experience so  I can work in the Korean marketing industry. My university advisor is little to no help outside of picking the required classes to graduate. I think all my research has given me answers for all the wrong things. I know I can't afford to move without a guaranteed job or language proficiency. And I can't work a second job on an E2 visa, does that mean I can't take any classes while there or do unpaid marketing internships? I am so confused.
Hello undecided1994,

Check out the articles in Work in South Korea for a start. I hope you will find some answers there.

Also hope that a member/ expert who is knowledgeable on the subject will be able to help you soon.

Cheers

Djameel
Expat.com Team
Hi unfortunately you and 10,000 others want the two jobs a year that go to foreigners, and you need to be fluent in Korean! And usually such jobs go to those married to Koreans (as no visa hassles).

You have to face facts as a recent grad you have no skills or experience to offer Korea (or most countries) and 20% grad unemployment in Korea post-pandemic made things worse, TEFL is available as being a native English speaker is a skill you can offer, but this is a dead end job that pays less than factory work (3.5 - 4,5 million won a month with overtime vs 2.1-2.3 million a month with TEFL). TEFL is a great year off travel gig, 2 years ok, after that starts destroying career prospects. There is a reason forums are full of bitter E2s after a decade......