Learning Mandarin

Hi everyone. I am planning to move to China by the end of the year after getting a great job offer from a manufacturing company. I already know the basics of the Chinese language, as I have been studying for almost 3 months already. I mainly use Archchinese and Written Chinese for online dictionaries and I’ve made great progress using Hack Chinese for vocab and reading and writing Chinese characters.

I aim to make a genuine connection with the locals so could anyone suggest any more resources for learning Mandarin? Textbook suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Also, is there a minimum amount of time I need to spend in China to correctly and effectively understand the tones?

Thanks in advance!

Hi JSM 51!

Do you have a name ;-)

Hack Chinese? No, no, no, please do not stupidly learn Chinese characters by rote! Learn the history and meaning of them, for example in this small booklet: ISBN 0570037921

Then, when in Shanghai, join a Chinese language school – there are plenty of them. Practise the Chinese six (not four!) tones of Standard Chinese “Putonghua”.

Though every Chinese teacher will kill me now 8-) I say: To understand, or better: to hear the Chinese tones is not that important! Because you can guess the correct meaning from the context. My proof: In Chinese songs, the tones are also “overridden” by the melody. Yet, the meaning is perfectly clear for Chinese listeners.

Do NOT learn Chinese Pinyin! It is so useless. Learn the characters and their pronunciation. Not some crippled Romanisation invented for foreigners. If you want to type Chinese on the computer, buy a WuBi keyboard. Typing WuBi is much faster as well.

Learn sentences, not words or single characters. You may try “Chinese with Ease” published by the French publishing house “Assimil”.

And, before you leave for China, make sure you have made all the medical preparations as well. (Booster vaccinations etc.) I refer you to The SOS Card Project.

That's all for now!