A bit of an obscure question ...

Hello !

My name is Erin and I'm new to expat . I'm sorry if this post is in the wrong category , I wasn't sure what to place this under .
I've been living in Japan for almost 2 years and I'm looking for a different type of experience .

I've been wanting to escape the English teaching routine and do what I originally wanted to do when I dreamed of coming to Japan . Travel !

Maybe as an English teacher you know that there isn't much time to travel ( unless you just work for a really good company or are part time , I guess) and that when you do ask for time off , you're guilt tripped into not taking the time off . I think teaching is a new experience for me but it was only a means to securely get into the country . Otherwise , I would very much like to be free ...

Complaining aside and to the main point , I've always been interested in Van life which is popular in America . I have no plans of going back to America anytime soon ; so in Japan I started planning to quit my job , sell my apartment and buy a camper van with my savings to just live on the road in Japan . This would allow so much more time to see the country and work remotely until I decided to move on to the next country .

Though I've done a lot of research on this , I can't seem to find if it's mandatory that I have to have a place of residence in Japan ( address on the residence card ) . Since I would be living on the road , I wouldn't really have a place of residence . I looked into a P.O. box ( which is a thing here thankfully ) but I'm not sure if that's enough with being a foreigner and all .

Does anyone have any insight on this ?

Not legal advice but this is one of the possible solution.
There are address renting service / virtual offices mostly used by individuals to setup companies and people who will be living overseas for extended period of time.