Hey, Thinking of moving to Vietnam any advise?!?!?

Hello, my name is Richie, i'm 31 and currently in living in New York.
I am a US veteran and want some advise on moving to Vietnam, i would like to start by going for 3-6 months first, just to see how it goes, and then make a more permanent decision. just looking for a little info.. like cost of living, and best cities to live in... any information would be greatly appreciated..
     THANK YOU...

Hi Richie! Have you ever been to Vietnam or Southeast Asia? I would suggest you visit Vietnam first for a few weeks if you can and research the cultures, food, locations and temperature. If Florida in the middle of summer is not something you can live with, you'll probably wont enjoy Southeast Asia. I too am planning to move to Vietnam in 5-6 years when I retire early and planning to live in Da Nang for a while.

If you can afford to live in NY, then Vietnam will be a bargain for you. You have to take in consideration if you can work remotely or what you will do in Vietnam for work. I would think it'll be difficult for expat to find a job in VN due to the language barrier unless you are fluent or work as a teacher.

Good luck!

richiemateo00 wrote:

Hello, my name is Richie, i'm 31 and currently in living in New York.
I am a US veteran and want some advise on moving to Vietnam, i would like to start by going for 3-6 months first, just to see how it goes, and then make a more permanent decision. just looking for a little info.. like cost of living, and best cities to live in... any information would be greatly appreciated..
     THANK YOU...

The 'advice' and most of the info you are seeking is already posted here in countless forum threads.

First, familiarize yourself with the layout of the site.

Learn how to change between the 'Vietnam' view to a city view, such as Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) which is sometimes called by its old name 'Saigon'.