Travelling to Panama in January 16 2019 - ANY ASSISTANCE welcome

Booked and paid for my flight!
I will be in PC on 16 JAN. Any additional inputs will be welcome.
I will need to book a car, so I can drive down to Puerto from Panama City.
Anyone want to do this together, WELCOME, it would be nice to have a co-pilot in control.
My trip details can be shared by PM if anyone interested in assisting.
THANKS A LOT IN ADVANCE FOR ANY INPUTS.
Cheers
Luiz.

Hi
I'm pretty new to panama but  I can tell you Jan 15/29 there is a Papal visit.  I believe expecting 4 million people - so get what you can booked ASAP .  He won't be here until 23 Jan but I'm sure people will arrive before. Good luck. And buy bottle water soon as arrive.

Thanks a lot. I just paid for airline ticket and car rental.
I am all set, I will actually arrive at 03:18 on Jan 17.

Thanks for the tip.
Regards,
Luiz

Good, just plan for delays while you are here.

My $.02 I'd take the bus to David. Driving in Panama City is a real pain on a good day, and there may be all sorts of additional uproar with the Pope visiting. Once you get out of the city it's much better but still a long drive. You can rent a car in David.

FYI you will be required to buy car insurance which will more or less double the price of the rental car (no matter what other insurance you may have). Carefully inspect the car for any scratches and dings no matter how small so they won't blame you and change you later.

Bien viaje! It will be interesting to hear your impressions of the country and Puerto.

Hi, I'd actually fly from Albrook airport in PTY to David, then rent the car there, except if you want to make the drive part of your adventure.