What is an expat?

Hi, I am a new member on this site that is celebrating its 10th anniversary. Congratulations. I have been making a presence in Puerto Rico for 15 years with property ownership for 13 years. I had never considered myself an expat as I have/had an equal footing on both places. I am seriously considering officially becoming a Puerto Rico resident. There could be many benefits to this transition as the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is going through a transition. My experiences here in Puerto Rico is more with Puerto Ricans as I live in Ponce and surrounding area and there are very few Americans that live here. Maybe 3 if I include myself. Maybe more but I do not know them.  My question is what is an expat? Is it having a vacation home or a temporary respite from the winters or is it expatriating oneself from the country they lived in and able to keep their citizenship? If anyone can give me a heads up on this question I would certainly  appreciate it. There are a lot of insights I can share about living and integrating into life here but I certainly would like to hear from some veteran expats who dive deeper into life here like the existing tax structure and the potential emerging tax structure. Community involvement etc. thanks

As far as I know there's no fixed definition for Expat. Wikepedia says: "An expatriate (often shortened to expat) is a person temporarily or permanently residing in a country other than that of their citizenship. The word comes from the Latin terms ex ("out of") and patria ("country, fatherland")."

According to that definition US Americans who live in Puerto Rico are no expats since PR is part of the US.

I consider myself an expat although since a couple of months I am a US citizen so technically I'm more like an immigrant.

The majority of the contributors on this forum are US Americans who either spend a lot of time here or who live here permanently so you fit in perfectly. :)