Anyone Living/Recently visited in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa) ?

Hi guys..Newbie here!
We are a Londoner couple thinking of hitting Addis Ababa in a couple months..is there anyone on this forum that lives there or has made a very recent trip out there ? We are particularly interested in the Capital, not so much the provinces.

Cheers
Zu

My husband and I have been living in Addis for a month.  What do you need to know?

Hi thanks for responding..my wife and i want to visist Addis for about one month..just wondering how the vibe is right now..in light of the conflict with Somalia...we are not planning to do the " historic route " just want to hang out in and around Addis and maybe a quik trip to Langano or Sodere .

Did you have any problems with luggage/customes etc when arriving or leaving ? I know they have a lot of street beggers...was that a serious problem for you guys when walking around town ?

Ideally we would have preferred to share a house or rent a room from an expat, but not because we want to save money ( i know the cost of living is quite affordable especially with hard currency ) but more for the networking...did you guys stay in a Hotel ?

Sorry for so many Q.'s...its been hard to get direct info from people living there or others who recently came from Ethiopia.

Cheers
Zu.

The vibe in Addis and around is fine--at least as far as I can tell, in relation to the conflict with Somalia--it does not affect daily life here.

There was no problem with customs, coming in.  We got our visas at the airport when we got there, and even brought in laptops, which we were told might be taxed, but weren't.