English speaking contact to help me obtain resident permit

@Julien

Hi I am new to Uruguay forum.  My name is Linda, I live in the United States, I visited Punta Del Este, Uruguay in November 2022 and loved it.  I am looking to move to Uruguay and would like a recommendation of a English speaking contact to help me obtain resident permit.  I would like to ensure my adult son and I meet the requirements before proceeding.  I have a house and belongings here and I would not want to settle things here if I would not be approved.  Does anyone have a recommendations?  If anyone has already gone through the process of moving from US to Uruguay your advice would be welcomed.

Hi Linda, to start, you will need your birth certificate apostilled and you will need a police/FBI clearance again apostilled and issued within 6 months of entry to Uruguay. Both documents have to be translated by an approved translator and notarized. You will also need vaccination records and tetanus is compulsory. You will need some passport sized photos known as photo carnet. You have to enter as a tourist then extend your visa and take it from there.

@ColoniaMan Thank you so much for the information.  Is health insurance a requirement? 

Can I obtain approval for resident permit before I come to Uruguay? If so, do you have any recommendations for English speaking contact in Uruguay to assist in getting the resident permit?