Living in Northern Ireland guide for expats

All the information you need to relocate and live in Northern Ireland.

About Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland boasts spectacular natural features such as the Giant's Causeway and the lakes in County Fermanagh. Also, expats are often attracted by the country's overall environment, with rolling hills and large open spaces, as well as the country's many castles. Though the weather tends to be mild throughout the year, it can be somewhat unpredictable.

The capital city of Belfast is a popular expat destination, though the cities of Derry and Craigavon are also sizeable and well developed. There are important transport links within the cities, as well as airports in Belfast and Derry. Furthermore, there is a rail link between Belfast and Dublin, for those who want to explore the Emerald Isle.

Northern Ireland has seen its economy improve lately, with an unemployment rate of just 5.4% in 2017. With a focus on job creation and attracting investment, there are opportunities for expats looking for employment in the country. Although there has been a historical focus on manufacturing, this has been overtaken by the service sector. It is important to note that unlike its southern neighbour, the country deals in pound sterling.

Quick Information

Capital : London
Official Languages : English , Welsh , Gaelic; Scottish Gaelic
Currency : Pound
Area : 244820 Km2
Population : 62348447
Calling Code : +44
Timezone : Europe/London

Share your Expat Experience in the Guide

As an member you can share your own experience about your expatriation by writing some articles in the Expat Guide.
Formalities, Visas, Work, Bank. Share your tips or your knowledges about the new country where you chose to live, or about your own country.