L card vs B card

Hi everyone!

I am looking for some information about whether I can apply for a long term residence permit.

I have been working in Belgium since 2016, but only this year switched to a local Belgian company. I see very different views on whether I am eligible for applying for a long term residence permit. Can someone help me with a few questions

• what are the eligibility rules to apply for a long term residence permit?
  • would i be eligible for a L card or B card?
  • does either of these cards would allow me to work in other EU countries without an additional WP?

Thank you soo much for your help!

Hello alex8111,

Welcome to expat.com!

For a start, you can check the discussion L or B Card. Our members have already provided some information there.

You can then read this article: https://visaguide.world/europe/belgium- … ce-permit/

Hopefully, you will find all these information useful.

Yoginee

Expat.com team

what are the eligibility rules to apply for a long term residence permit?

-> 5 years of uninterrupted employment.

would i be eligible for a L card or B card?

-> it is upto you which one to apply.

does either of these cards would allow me to work in other EU countries without an additional WP?

-> L allows this.

About the last question...it depends on each EU country, the L card itself (or any other card) won't give you instant access to the work market in all EU countries. I think actually most of them won't allow it. What you do get is an easy way to ask for residence in that other country, but that doesn't mean you can take any job there, for that you need to get a WP as any other foreigner.

Hope it helps

Corrected later: L type (previously known as D type) is EU-wide. With L card, you can work in any EU country without the need of a new work permit from that country (with the exception of Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom are not part of the EU long-term residency program).