Lost in Durres

Tirana
Try Albatross for free
Tirana Expat Q&A
Lost in Durres
Robert Henderson
By Robert Henderson
23:36 — edited
I am a Canadian who just arrived in Durres a couple of days ago. I am in desperate need of information. Unfortunately (for me) no one here seems to speak English and I do not speak Shqip.

When I arrived here, I took a Taxi from Tirana Airport to my short term apartment in Durres. (Why did I choose Durres ? Because it is situated on the coast and as I grew up in Vancouver Canada, I love the ocean.) Having said that, If I want to take a bus to Tirana, how does it work ? Can I pay the driver the fare direct, or is there a kiosk where I have to buy a ticket ? (I know it may seem silly, but I have no experience with traveling in Albania and public transport seems to be somewhat of a nightmare.)

Also, as I am a strict vegetarian, would anyone know if there are there any health food stores in Durres where I can buy Tofu and other health food products ?

Finally, as I Vape (use electronic cigarettes) are there any places where I can purchase e-liquids in Durres ?

I really am a nice guy. It is somewhat intimidating coming to a different country when one does not speak the resident language and the locals do not speak English.

Please HELP

Sincerely,
Robert

Robert   Go to Tirana ==tourist office/Hotel Plaza /  they speak English..can easily help  Register at your Canadian embassy They will help