Extended stay with family

My wife and two kids (3 and 5) plan to live in Cuenca for roughly 10 months next year from Aug. to June. We are taking a year off of teaching. My wife is applying at an English language learning institute as a tutor--basically a volunteer position--where my oldest can go to school. I'm a painter/teacher. I'm planning on taking care of kids and doing some creative projects, possibly with the help of an artists grant.

We're curious about living with a family in Cuenca. We wonder how easy it is to get around on public transportation, if it matters if we are not in centro, what to look out for when finding a place--lots of things.
We're also not crazy about living in an expat neighborhood if ti means forgoing a cultural experience, but wonder if it might be safer to do so.

Any advice about living with a family would be helpful.

scottmacinak wrote:

My wife and two kids (3 and 5) plan to live in Cuenca for roughly 10 months....

We wonder how easy it is to get around on public transportation....

We're also not crazy about living in an expat neighborhood if it means forgoing a cultural experience....

Dear Scott,

Welcome to the Ecuador forum.

IMO it is a misconception about living in a South American city that has an Expat presence .. that Expats will supposedly overrun the community .. or there will be so much exposure to 'the Expat way' that one must forego a cultural experience.  (Exceptions to my opinion may include Boquete, Panama, and some gated communites in Mexico and Costa Rica where Expat saturation is far greater than in Ecuador.)

Threre are plenty of local Ecuadorians in Cuenca and Vilcabamba .. and -- provided you attempt to speak their language with some success -- the full cultural experience should be available to you.