Following fashion in Ecuador

Hi everyone,

Do you follow fashion trends in Ecuador? Every country and every culture has its own dress code. As far as you are concerned, have you changed the way you dress?

Can one easily find fashion boutiques in Ecuador? Are clothes expensive there? Or cheap?

What do Ecuadorians usually wear or like to wear the most?

Share your experience!

Priscilla

Oh fashion, shoes and purses, right up my alley!!  Love them all.  I would also throw makeup and toiletries into this one. 

Here is my opinion on this topic.  Being a business professional my whole life, my wardrobe choices for the most part have been more on the conservative side, even leisure wear, so most of my clothes really don't go out of style. However, I have found here in ecuador that clothes stores in the mall in Manta do try to mimic the global fashion industry.  The fits are different as I have tried on a few things.  Living here almost 4 years, I have only purchased one article of clothing and 2 pair of flip flops, which I needed to go on my wedding trip to Fiji.  I bought the flip flops at the Tommy Hilfiger store in Quito and they cost me a little more than $150, and that was 3 years ago.  When I left the US, I gave away bags and bags of clothes.  The packers had left quite a bit of stuff in my house unbeknownst to us and my renters put it in a storage facility.  When we sold our house last year and I went for the first time to our storage locker, I found boxes and boxes of clothes and not cheap ones.  Having no luggage space to bring back, I filled my realtors (& former neighbor's) BMW X5 SUV completely full, to donate to charity.  With that being said my husband and myself still have 4 out of 5 closets in my house full of clothes & shoes.  I was able to give away lots after the earthquake so some clothes did come in handy.