Where in CR to live, based on schools & jobs.

Hi. Our family is planning to move from the Pacific Northwest to CR this year, and we are currently trying to decide exactly where in CR to relocate, based on school and employment opportunities.

We'll have the following kids with us: 1 high school, 1 5th grader & 1 4th grader. My wife is a teacher, my background is primarily in law enforcement, but I also have experience in graphic design, writing, video production and inspection work (transportation industry). We are learning Spanish, but far from fluent, and neither of us have any solid job leads at the moment.

Of course we do plan on doing a recon trip soon, in order to see the different parts of CR, but for now we'd appreciate any information/suggestions that anyone might have.

Based on what we've researched so far, we are partial to the areas near the west coast, but not directly in a heavily populated area.

Thanks, and we look forward to hearing your responces!

Once again, I suggest you read the requirements regarding  living and working in Costa Rica
It is not inexpensive to live here, especially raising a family and putting your kids through school, as you will, like many expats, choose to use an Internationally accredited  private facility, since they do not speak Spanish.

If you're planning to physically work in CR, I'd rethink your plan.  First, non-residents can't work here.  Second, wages here are ridiculously low.   Third, if you can't speak Spanish, your prospects are very limited.   From my experience, most people here buy businesses and hire Ticos to do all the work, or work online.    Also, there always seem to be lots of restaurants for sale in this area.  I wonder why!  :(