Process for buying an apartment in Medellin

I have been looking for step by step process to buy an apartment, but found many different and confusing processes.  I found a link to a Medellin Real Estate company called LUHO.  They look like they have people to guide you through sending money from US, to filling out forms properly to helping your with the final papers for local Colombian Banks, getting the best transfer rates, to transfering the property correctly.

Anyone have experience with them?

Welcome to the Colombia forum, Andy.

I have no experience with that company.   I just visited their website for the first time.  They have some interesting listings, but note that the prices on the site welcome page are confusing .. hard to tell if they are being listed in pesos or dollars.

I agree with your intro's assessment of Houston -- too hot.  Medellin is far more beautiful .. and El Poblado sector is in some ways a cross between Las Vegas and Beverly Hills.

Why are you buying and not renting in your first potential year in Colombia?

The deals are not going anywhere.  Not enough Gringos have embraced Medellin yet to make the city anything but a buyer's market.

cccmedia in La Zona Cafetera

Note that lujo  .. pronounced LU ho .. is a Spanish language adjective meaning luxury.

cccmedia

My wife is Colombian.  She has a big family there. 
Love that my money will go a long way.  I am retiring there. 
Love Medellin, like Houston, there is a lot to do, something always happening. 
I speak Spanish.

If you insist on renting in year 1, have the family assist you in navigating the fiador issue.  That's a requirement for a guarantor that applies in some Medellín rentals.

I appreciate your low-key answer to my intrusive question about renting vs. buying, Andy.  However, I didn't see any compelling reason for you to make a speedy purchase.

cccmedia in La Zona

Andy,

Buying real estate in Colombia is quite simple. My advice: